top of page
Search
  • aidanty10

Creative Critical Reflection Writeup

1. My magazine takes advantage of basic conventional magazine aspects multiple times. With an eye-catching shot for the cover and many bright and short inserts to get people interested. The title of my product is almost parodying the title of the popular THRASHER magazine with the sound, font, and shape being identical. The idea to have the cover photo be a duller color to let the inserts pop more was influenced by many skating magazines covers I’ve seen that tend to do the same. However, I think that where my magazine would stray from the usual is in its actual contents. The magazine relies on audience interaction to get people hooked, this includes quizzes, submission opportunities, and interviews with patrons to make them more than just a reader of the magazine. This is all in attempt to make the magazine feel less like just a piece of media and more like a community.

I think my product does the best job possible representing this social group. With the inclusion of having the viewers contribute to the content. From someone’s view on outfits to their custom deck the patrons of the magazine would have their voice heard and be represented in new articles every release. As the trends come and go it’ll all be showcased straight from the source, the people, what they stand for, who they are, and what they represent will shine through in the magazine.

2. My magazine features interactive articles on what the community as a whole are up to regarding specific topics. For example an article on the current state of clothing in the skating community, where we'd feature photos submitted by patrons and discuss the cross between fashion and functionality. This wouldn't be a one time article though there'd be many reoccurrences of the same topic just with refreshed submissions. On the online version of the magazine there could be quiz's that you could take and compare your score to that of other subscribers. Ideally my product would be distributed both digitally and physically so the people can access it whichever way they want.

3. I like to think my production skills have increased through this activity, I can compare my magazine to my past productions from my video class from middle school. I was tasked with making different commercials or PSA's to promote something and I would try to find the best way to present the product or information, after this assignment I'm really thinking more about what's the best way to present this to my audience? Who's gonna be seeing this? What appeals to them? I've learned how important it is to cater to your specific audience.

4. My magazine has heavy involvement with different technology and online resources. The interactions between audience and producer that's referenced a lot in my magazine is going to rely mostly on online communication via the magazines website and email. Additional resources and online versions of the magazine would also be viewable on the website to appeal to the audience that leans towards digital media. This is all in an effort to compete in the increasingly growing market for digital media.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page