top of page
Search
  • aidanty10

Magazine Cover Process

I started a to put together my first rendition of my magazine cover back in October. I looked towards other magazines like Thrasher for inspiration, I was seeking an overall mood to have in mind as I designed my magazine. I looked at my ability and resources when I was considering the pictures I could take.


I ended up deciding to make my magazine with a very developed world feel, lots of cool tones and the idea of sidewalks and grass. I considered what I would be interested in and what I would want to see on a cover, what would catch my eye and what would grab my attention? My magazine used a cool tone picture and lots of colorful inserts on the cover to grab peoples attention. The colors accompanied by short interesting sentences should effectively get people interested.


After reviewing my AICE media studies teachers feedback I started looking at all the changes I needed to make. One of the biggest changes I wanted to make was getting my own picture on my cover. I considered just recreating the picture I used but I wanted to have my face on the cover.



These are some of the pictures I ended up taking. I really enjoyed the point of view from the upward angle shot but I felt the shot of me sitting with the board had better symmetry and was overall just better formatted for a magazine cover





This is the final product for my magazine. A lot stayed the same but some of the inserts were changed a bit in terms of size and arrangement. I moved the barcode to a better spot and let the names on the top stretch out a bit as well as put it in my own more creative fun font. I went with this picture but I ended up tweaking the colors of the background to match the cool tones of the original cover. I also was really interested in making myself overlap with some of the inserts on the cover.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Creative Critical Reflection Writeup

1. My magazine takes advantage of basic conventional magazine aspects multiple times. With an eye-catching shot for the cover and many bright and short inserts to get people interested. The title of m

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page